The Mid-Wait Wobble


I can see why people are keen to rush into things. Sitting with anticipation and anxiety leads to thoughts (messy thoughts) unless you keep an active reign on yourself. I’ve had a lot of time to think about the decision to adopt, but still I catch myself in the odd moment wondering if it will really happen: if we could really cope with being adoptive parents.

Several years back I would have (allegorically) hung myself in this annihilating train of thought. Now my reflective mind is a bit more resolute. I note the thought: Am I worthy? I look to the feeling: fear. I also look to my habituated response: self-doubt and sometimes even self-attack.

I remember the little, lonely girl and her bullies. I remember I’m no longer that girl. I hold her close to me; I hold that fear. And instead of turning on myself, I breathe. I remember that fear is natural, human, normal, shared. I remember that I’m here today, despite my fear. I remember that I am more than fear. I am worthy.

Slowly, with time, my brain and my body learnt not to be afraid of fear. The little lonely girl was learning to trust herself.

I wobble. Drenched in fear, I wobble.

But somehow, every wobble moves me closer to being that parent. I will not be perfect. I will yell sometimes, blinded by fear and love. My emotions will sometimes overspill in tears. I will feel helpless. I will feel unworthy. I will be afraid.

I will be all of these things. I will wobble, wobble, wobble up mountains and through rivers.

If that is the only thing my child learns from me, I’ve done my job. We are, all of us, broken in seen and unseen ways. We stumble, fall, and break some more. We wobble.

Maybe life is about learning how to wobble.

3 thoughts on “The Mid-Wait Wobble

  1. Maybe life is about learning how to wobble. – Yes absolutely! What a great way of describing life.
    For me, adoptive parenting is a bit of an extension of that idea, because whilst learning how to wobble, you’re also learning how someone else wobbles (which is very different to you). And when that other person breaks, you wobble together to fix them…if they’ll let you.
    Great post, thanks so much for sharing it with the Weekly Adoption Shout Out x

  2. I can really relate to your post. I constantly feel like I’m wobbling and and have to hold on tight so as to not fall over. However as you say, I think this is part of life and to wobble means you’ve considered all possibilities and you can prepare yourself for what’s ahead. This is a much better approach than sticking your head in the sand, especially when parenting adopted children. You’ll be wonderful I’m sure.

    Thanks for sharing on the Weekly Adoption Shout Out x

  3. Thank you for your kind comments; I hope I am able to prepare adequately for adoptive parenting and where not, resilient enough to wobble without falling over. I especially like Stix’s reference to learning how other people wobble and wobbling together.

Comments are closed.